Member Exclusive: Chamber to Unveil New Congressional Leadership and Bipartisanship Awards

Tomorrow, U.S. Chamber President Suzanne Clark will unveil the <u>Abraham Lincoln</u> <u>Leadership for America Award and the Jefferson – Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship</u>, which recognize members of Congress who demonstrate the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our country forward.

The Abraham Lincoln Leadership for America Award

Good public policy doesn't just happen, it requires leaders committed to making it happen. In Congress, often the easiest part of the process is the vote on legislation. The work that occurs beforehand in refining proposals and building support is essential. The Abraham Lincoln Leadership for America Award recognizes those members of Congress from both sides of the aisle who in their actions have demonstrated the leadership critical to advancing policies that support American enterprise.

This award is earned by the 10 top scoring Senators and 20 top scoring members of Congress, apportioned by party. Since the start of the 116th Congress, the Chamber has urged members to either cosponsor — or refrain from cosponsoring — specific bills important to advancing and maintaining the American enterprise system. The Leadership component measures the members alignment with the Chamber on these proposals. Members are ranked relative to the performance of all other members of their party. The top ranked of both parties earn 100%.

The Jefferson–Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship

America's elected leaders should be men and women of conviction and principle who are also able to find common ground with those with whom they disagree. Since the days of Jefferson and Hamilton, America has benefitted from leaders who found ways to work together despite their differences. The Jefferson-Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship recognizes those members of Congress who in their actions have demonstrated a willingness to work across the aisle in support of common objectives.

This award is earned by the 10 top scoring senators and 20 top scoring members of Congress, apportioned by party. Rating is based on the number of bills — except those formally opposed by the Chamber — a Member cosponsors introduced by a member of the opposite party. Similar to Leadership, the Bipartisanship component is calculated on a ranking relative to a member's performance compared to members of their own party. The top ranked of both parties earn 100%.

Tune in tomorrow, June 9th at 2:00 PM ET, for the <u>Governing with Distinction</u> <u>Ceremony</u>. U.S. Chamber President Suzanne Clark and Executive Vice President Neil Bradley will announce the winners of these new awards and be joined by the top scoring members of Congress for each award for a discussion on leadership and bipartisanship.